An Exodus of Agents - Is it true?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

An Exodus of Agents - Is it true?

Back in the old days when I was a young agent it was very common for OTAs (Other Treasury Agents) to compete for transfers from their agencies to the Secret Service.

I've heard more recently that because of the constant travel, long hours, separations from families, etc. that are commonplace these days that the "brain drain" is in the other direction - Secret Service agents are transferring to other federal agencies.

If true, this is very saddening.

Could someone shed some light on this? How bad is it? Is anything being done to make the situation better? What can be done?

Personnel

You could probabaly contact USSS/HR at 202 406-5323 and they might provide you an answer. :roll:

Not from HR

I don't think USSS/HR would provide answers to my questions.

The information about the exodus of USSS agents to other agencies came to me from an AD, so I don't question that part - that was not my question.

The questions: How bad is it?, Is anything being done to make the situation better? and What can be done? were addressed to the working troops - not to management.

8)

It's true. Same old management style. They have always thought the "prestige" was enough to keep people there. That doesn't cut it any longer. Since FERS, the guys can leave and take their time with them. Now that they are changing days off week to week to avoid SOT, and all of the other normal nonsense, there is no reason to stay.

Outrageous!

Playing with the schedule to avoid paying SOT? They were doing that back when SOT was first legislated!

It's incredible that such things are still going on - especially in view of how overworked everyone is. If you're going to work people to death you should at least pay them!