Looking for a new department

Unregistered

Looking for a new department

I am looking into relocating to the Sarasota/Bradenton area and I am looking for a PD where I can move up quickly (<5 years). I have heard that the Sheriff's offices are not conducive to that so I am primarily looking at Bradenton PD, Sarasota PD and Northport. I have 10+ years experience and have 3 years in the Detective Bureau. I also have an advanced degree.

What is the call volume at BPD like? Is there a split shift or days and nights only? How long does it take to get into drug or detective unit? SWAT?

How many offense reports per night on average? I know that starting is low, but how much do youake after 5 years?

Any other info I should know?

Thanks in advance!

Unregistered
    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    I am looking into relocating to the Sarasota/Bradenton area and I am looking for a PD where I can move up quickly (<5 years). I have heard that the Sheriff's offices are not conducive to that so I am primarily looking at Bradenton PD, Sarasota PD and Northport. I have 10+ years experience and have 3 years in the Detective Bureau. I also have an advanced degree.

What is the call volume at BPD like? Is there a split shift or days and nights only? How long does it take to get into drug or detective unit? SWAT?

How many offense reports per night on average? I know that starting is low, but how much do youake after 5 years?

Any other info I should know?

Thanks in advance!
    "Generally" speaking, the quickest advancements for a PD will be at NPPD. Politics is always involved, everywhere you go, of course. For an SO, it all depends on "who you know." For example, the current MSO sheriff was hired at MSO several years ago -- and he was promoted to lieutenant in just a few months, but that's a longer story.

Unregistered
    Is Bradenton not a good choice?

Unregistered
    Is Bradenton not a good choice?