Professional Courtesy

Professional Courtesy

To all officers of the Savannah-Chatham Metro PD: If each and everyone of you believe that you should extend "Professional Courtesy" to both active and retired police officers and their families, I want to remind you that "PC" does not exist in Florida. These "90 day wonders" have no respect for the law enforcement fraternity. If you ever run into a Florida LEO up your way, please do not cut any of them any slack because they won't for you!

Re: Professional Courtesy

Well the poster is right about the 90 day wounders but is wrong that all are like that. I cut everyone slack from other agencies even though I got a ticket in Maryland and Washington DC but I dont hols\d it against an asso\hole or two not to cut anyone a break. Plus I have A great time telling them how I got a ticket in there state and sit in my car a few minutes before letting them off Be safe guys

OP cant be more wrong. I was a cop in Florida before relocating here to Savannah. All the cops I knew down in Florida ALWAYS extended professional courtesy (within reason). I mean you beat your wife, you have to go to jail, cop or not. Now, the FHP is a different story. They would write their own mothers a traffic ticket, thats why every chance I had I would hammer them with citations, and end the stop with, "you can blame your co workers and your agency mentality for those".

I see professional courtesy here in Chatham a lot since relocating here, however the outlying areas such as Effingham, Rincon, Richmond Hill, Tybee Island (where nothing happens) run off stats and it seems and they will arrest or charge anyone with anything (usually upcharging to make themselves look good). I just shake my head, it seems like the majority of them just don't "get it". However, the majority of "cops" that work small, low paying agencies like that really cant work anywhere else, usually from lack of experience or a spotty history in LE.