Morale

Thread: Morale

Morale

I am an Orlando police officer. I have been with the agency for over thirteen years. This new program was put in place by the Chief and it has morale at the lowest that I have seen in my whole career. This program in NOT supported by the rank and file Officer. We hate it, but have no recourse. This was developed and instituted by the rank of Deputy Chief and above. We have to attempt to follow the program or suffer the consequences. Like everyone else officers have children, families and other obligations beyond work. We have arranged our lives around a basic work schedule. If an emergency arises or the community needs us then we will work whatever is needed until the problem is resolved. I am talking about a base work schedule. Changing our schedule to midnights or an opposite days rotation is one of the tools that the administration is using against us. If we don't play ball then it is off to midnights. Several officers have been moved already for sole purpose of discipline and to make an example for their program. They are making officers take shifts on the transport van as punishment for low statistics. The shifts are not very long so this has not had the intended result. That is why the administration is moving toward permanent transfers as the fear motivator. This is counter productive and a disservice to the citizens. We are forced to alter our enforcement actions to have the high stats that the chief wants. Yes, the Chief. All squad stat reports are forwarded directly to her office. She is the architect of the program and uses the Deputy Chiefs as the enforcement arm via the Division Captains. I now write tickets where I might have given a verbal warning and make an arrest where I might have filed the case with the SAO or given a warning. Officer are using all kinds of tricks to increase our stats to stay off of the bottom five list. I am on the inside and I can tell you it is not serving the citizens.Every squad has to submit