Transition to GA Law Enforcement
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Transition to GA Law Enforcement

I am an 8 year veteran of a municipal PD here in Florida. I am considering a move north. Curious about GA POST requirements for certified officers. Any references you could provide would be appreciated.

Stay in Floriduuh

Retired last year from Dade County. Check out the GA POST certification web site. Usually, if you have active training and max certification in FL/ Ga will put you through a 200 hour cross certification on high liability, driving, criminal law, etc. They do not have a cross over academy like FDLE does for out of State LEOS. It depends on what they see on your training records, education, and experience. You will be asked to submit all the training records, plus a resume.

If you run into any problems get back with me on this site and I will call you. I am going through the same process as we speak.

ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT YOU WOULD BE S20 TO POLICE IN GA. I HAVE MANY YEARS IN WITH ATLANTA PD AND I CAN PROMISE YOU THAT THE SYSTEM IS VERY MESSED UP. EACH TIME YOU ARREST SOMEONE YOU "WILL" HAVE TO OBTAIN A WARRANT FOR THAT PERSON WITHIN 48HRS. YOU "WILL" HAVE TO GO BEFORE A JUDGE AND EXPLAIN WHY YOU ARRESTED HIM. IT IS ABSOLUTLEY THE WORST JUSTICE SYSTEM IN THE USA. ALL TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS ARE MISDEMEANORS SO YOU WILL HAVE TO GOTO COURT "EVERYTIME YOU WRITE A TICKET". I WORKED IN FLORIDA AND MOVED TO GA WORKING AS A COP. I COULD NOT MAKE IT MORE THAN 2YRS BEFORE I RETURNED TO FLA. IF YOU WANT TO GOTO GA TO BE A COP I SUGGEST U RESEARCH IT BIG TIME BECAUSE I CAN PROMISE YOU WILL REGRET IT. BY THE WAY I WORKED FOR THE HIGHEST PAID DEPT... APD AND I MADE 42K A YEAR ON 8HRS SHIFTS. AND ALSO DONT FORGET BY GA STATE LAW YOU ONLY GET PAID $25 DOLLARS FOR COURT BY THE DIST. ATTORNEY NO MATTER HOW LONG YOU ARE THERE... YOU BEST DO YOUR HOMEWORK GA LEO SUCKS.....