PDA

View Full Version : Not all Troopers are bad

11-14-2006, 11:21 AM
I am a City of Miami cop. I would like to share a positive incident, that took place 2 years ago.. I was just returning to Miami from an Orlando Vacation. I was on the Turnpike doing 115 MPH. I got Pulled over by an 18 year old Vet. I apolagized for my actions. I asked the trooper to do what was right, that if he decided to write me up this was his highway and I would assume my resposabilities. At the same time I asked for Professional courtesy, the same way I would do for him or any Officer... The trooper looked at me and said, you lucky I am an 18 year veteran.. If a Rookie would had pull you over , you be handcuffed and arrested.. Common sense plays a Big role in police work.. I shook his hand Thanked him, and slowed down ever since... By the way he told me FHP academy teaches them to use discretion, is the ROOKIES who dont follow protocol... I remember 10 years ago I handled an accident with an off duty trooper, he was shaking on his pants. The trooper was at fault, he had good insurance. I explained to the other party he was an off duty trooper, he had good insurance and that I WAS not Writing him a ticket. That he's only concern should be him getting his vehicle fixed and have his insurance cover. I explained that cops dont write cops, just like Dr. dont charge a Dr. visit to another Dr. That's just the way it is... To bad so sad.. For those troopers that have discretion AMEN to you.. Thanks!!!

11-15-2006, 03:42 AM