PDA

View Full Version : Community Control/Probation

04-19-2013, 02:14 PM
I'm a police officer and I've often arrested subjects on community control and others on various type of probation. What is the difference between the two? I'm assuming that CC is a more stringent form of probation but I'm not 100% sure on that. Thanks!

04-19-2013, 04:31 PM
Community Control is what's commonly referred to as 'house arrest'. You're correct, it is a more stringent form of community supervision; one step above incarceration. Basically, a person on community control is serving a jail sentence at their approved residence. Persons on community control are allowed to work, attend church/AA/CA/NA meetings, etc, but any activity outside their residence must be approved by their supervising officer, in advance and in writing. If you're arresting a community controlee, it's likely they're already in violation.

04-19-2013, 07:28 PM
Community Control is what's commonly referred to as 'house arrest'. You're correct, it is a more stringent form of community supervision; one step above incarceration. Basically, a person on community control is serving a jail sentence at their approved residence. Persons on community control are allowed to work, attend church/AA/CA/NA meetings, etc, but any activity outside their residence must be approved by their supervising officer, in advance and in writing. If you're arresting a community controlee, it's likely they're already in violation.

Thanks for the information. I don't interact with the Probation Officers of the suspects due to the unit I'm in (just catching, no cleaning!) but I was curious as to the difference. Thanks!

04-19-2013, 10:21 PM