PDA

View Full Version : Keep faith

10-25-2012, 02:06 PM
I want to start off by saying that I created this post as I wanted to state my general opinion on this matter. I am a law enforcement officer in Miami Dade County and although I know we make mistakes sometimes it is very important that the actual facts be portrayed rather than only some details that sound corrupt in general. My take is the following:

1. Officer Romero was involved in a traffic accident, no doubt. I am not familiar with the Town of Medley nor that intersection. The video portrays the officer being at fault for the accident. But what the video does not show is the actual display of the traffic signal. Also what has not been mentioned is what the nature of the officer being in that area. Was he conducting normal patrol activities or was he responding for a call of service? It is certain the officer was not traveling in emergency mode which is clearly noted.
2. The aftermath of the accident is very scarce. One thing I did observe was the text book conduct of the officer in activating the lights and conducting a pat down of the other party. The officer has received several negative comments on the above. Taking in the environment and the circumstances everyone has to understand that being an involved party in a traffic crash is very irritating and frustrating, no matter who is at fault. Just like initiating a traffic stop, as a police officer you do not know who you are encountering. You have to perceive that the other party was in some way angry at the circumstances and as a police officer, no matter the situation, your safety is paramount to everything, therefore the pat down was not only reasonable, but given the fact that the accident took place in a dark deserted area, it was a great move.