PDA

View Full Version : ??

01-15-2010, 12:47 AM
Hi I have a very serious question for any current officers.
I am a female student and will graduate from college this May with my degree in Criminology, I have often thought of becoming a police officer. I have lived in Plant City my entire life and would like to work for our police department. I want to go into the academy in May and will graduate there in October.
SO far so good right...?
Well..Here is the thing as a teenager I made a lot of mistakes! I was arrested at 16 ( I’m 23 now) for misdemeanor possession of cannabis. I also experimented with other drugs (cocaine and ecstasy) I don’t currently do drugs and haven't for the past four years. I also have 4 moving violations on my driving record.
I really would like to work as a police officer while I continue school and get my master's from the University Of South Florida.
I really want to find out if there is even a glimmer of hope for me, I want to be a police officer more than anything...but I also don't want to attend the academy to no avail and be out a lot of time and money
Thanks to anyone who can help.

01-15-2010, 11:20 PM
I don't think PCPD will hire you if you have done cocaine and ecstasy. Your would probably have to lie and stick with your story if you really want to be a Police Officer.

01-16-2010, 12:43 PM
Last time I looked at qualifications is said no marijuana use in the last 2 years, no other drugs in the last 5 years, and no tobacco in the last 12 months. It has been a while since I looked at one so you might want to call the department and get them to send you an application or get one on-line.

04-01-2010, 04:12 AM
I don't think PCPD will hire you if you have done cocaine and ecstasy. Your would probably have to lie and stick with your story if you really want to be a Police Officer.

Thats great advice,"just lie an stick with your story"....only in Plant City.

04-02-2010, 09:50 AM