PDA

View Full Version : do your job?

05-15-2008, 03:20 PM
If you are not doing anything wrong then what is there to worry about? What you cant sit and talk next to each other for an hour at a time now? Save it for the office or send emails, texts, just do your job and stop worrying about if someone is watching you! You are a public official all the citizens are your boss too. I see you guys sitting around hiding in corners, ect and your not doing speed control if you know what I mean. Im glad your boss is watching you all now. Now maybe you, as a public official, will not abuse your job authority and just sit around waiting and hoping nothing comes your way.

Dirty Harry
05-15-2008, 11:17 PM
Dear Citizens, Neighbors, Friends and Family,

My name is Jill and I am a cop. That means that the pains and joys of my personal life are often muted by my work. I resent the intrusion but I confuse my self with my job almost as often as you do. The label "police officer" creates a false image of who I really am. Sometimes I feel like I'm floating between two worlds. My work is not just protecting and serving. It's preserving that buffer that exists in the space between what you think the world is, and what the world really is.

My job isn't like television. The action is less frequent, and more graphic. It is not exhilarating to point a gun at someone. Pooled blood has a disgusting metallic smell and steams a little when the temperature drops. CPR isn't an instant miracle and it's no fun listening to an elderly grandmother's ribs break while I keep her heart beating. I'm not flattered by your curiosity about my work. I don't keep a record of which incident was the most frightening, or the strangest, or the bloodiest, or even the funniest. I don't tell you about my day because I don't want to share the images that haunt me.

But I do have some confessions to make: