PDA

View Full Version : Baynews 9 report/Officer Seeley (sp?)

01-19-2008, 06:56 AM
I saw the news report on Baynews 9 about the K-9 attack on that girl and being a cop myself viewed between the lines. In order for that K-9 to be released, someone had to be in body contact with the officer in order for his shirt remote to be activated. Either that, or the officer felt in enough danger to release his K-9? x4? Anyway, I'm guessing that the girl in the news story wasn't as innocent as shown and the dog did his duty and attacked whoever was attacking his handler. Am I correct? I'm sure I am. Anyway, Hurray for you and your partner. Hope you don't let biased news reporting get you down. Those of us who work the beat know how it is.

Sincerely,
An 18 year vet.

01-19-2008, 12:56 PM
I work for the SO, but the newspaper said that she had a gesture at him and struck his shirt, thus releasing the dog. Probably something that couldnt be done again if tried 100 more times.

I know Seeley when he worked for the SO (long long time ago, and the gym) and he's a great guy. Ive seen the dog in competitions and they are a great team together. I only hear good things about him through other officers.

This just happens to be an unfortunate incident, but it happens. The remote did its job, and so did the dog.

She should have kept her hands to herself irregardless of whatever circumstances. Heck I know that and I'm IN uniform.

I hope nothing comes of this for him. This is just an honest mistake.

01-19-2008, 06:32 PM
I know Ted personally and respect him and the service he and Bodo, as well as all of the K-9's provide to the citizens and business owners of Lakeland.

Ted & Bodo have been a great asset to the people of the City of Lakeland and to the Lakeland Police Department.

What happened was an unfortunate accident.

Ted, know this, we appreciate everything you and Bodo do every day for us! We know you are professional and that whatever may have happened, it was not intentional!