PDA

View Full Version : greener grass?

01-16-2008, 05:40 PM
This is from officer.com/wy----I was a cop in Houston, Texas for 10 years before I became a Wyoming State Trooper. I have been stationed in Laramie for about a year now, and as for my town there is plenty of affordable housing. A good friend of mine (I worked with in Texas) came up here with me and got assigned to Rawlins - he was not so lucky and just now found a house after working there for 8 months. WHP allowed him to stay for free in a state owned house in Wamsutter while he found a good house in Rawlins.... There are several assignments that come with a free state-owned house (includes utilities). Elk Mountain is one of them (between Laramie and Rawlins) and they have an opening right now.

The pay scale goes up alot with each promotion, which comes pretty easy with time. You will get regular overtime, which you can now choose to take as OT pay on your paycheck, or bank as comp time to build up extra days off to take whenever you want. Remember when they put a salary on the website, it is only the starting base salary. You get a $75 a month clothing allowance to pay for dry cleaning & uniform issues, shift differential pay for all hours worked between 1800-0600 hrs, On-Call pay for hours you are on-call ($1 hr - but it adds up over a month)... So my December paycheck was over $4000, which is not my best month, but average. Health insurance for my entire family of 5 (3 little girls) runs $143.66 a month. The retirement program is entirely paid for by the state. My Dec pay stub reflects $875 paid into my retirement account on my behalf.

We also have a deferred comp voluntary retirement account, and if you choose to participate, the state will match your contribution dollar for dollar up to $20 a month - more free money!