PDA

View Full Version : Introducing myself

Infantryguy06
12-22-2007, 04:20 AM
Hello,

I have been viewing this site for a while now. Somethings on here are good and some things are not so good. i wanted to introduce mysefl and tell you a little about me and why I come here.

I am a former police officer inthe Atlanta area. I have not always had aninterest in law enforcement. My passion is actually aviation. I am a pilot and a Flight Instructor. I have always wanted to be a professionalpilot. That doesnt neccessarily mean an airline pilot. Infact, the main reason I became a cop was to pay for flight training which it did.

But I enjoyed being a police officer. Not because I got to chase people or arrest people or give them tickets. I am 39 years old and that stuff doesnt impress me. I legitiametly enjoy helping people. I believe thats the role of a leo. To help people and enforce laws. not to be a hardnose and write every citizen that litters.

Anyway, I enjoyed it and I miss it. Now if I could fly for law enforcement that would be wonderful. the only problem is most departments and all the ones in Georgia fly helicopters and I am anairplan epilot. I have looked into the FHP aviation section and it struck my interets. italked to the commander who was a very nice guy. Very professionalbut easy to talk to. He let me visit with one of the Trooper pilots and I had a blast. I was really impressed withthe FHP. I am thinkng about moving to Florida and being a Trooper plot. But they want you to be a road trooper for at least a year i understand the reasoning behind that. Most depts want you to be a street cop for six or more years and thats really not practiclae for me. I mean in that amount of time I could be at a regional airline flying CRJ's instead of waiting around to fly a cessna 172.