PDA

View Full Version : Benefits

11-17-2007, 08:42 AM
I have been a police officer in michigan for the last 10 years and really have no complaints except the weather. I do, however, have a concern about the medical coverage that stops the day you retire. It's like they pull the rug out from underneath you - thanks for the 25 years of service -sorry you wont be able to afford any doctor or medical bills - have a nice rest of your life. I am curious what other states (particularly warm states - Florida, Arizona, Texas, etc...) offer in the line of medical insurance/coverage after retirement. I have read a lot about the Sheriff Office's in florida participating in the state retirement system and how it is supposed to be so great - is it? Anyone with info please let me know.

Carl Shawver
11-17-2007, 05:47 PM
I am retired from the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office in Tampa, Florida.

By Florida law when you retire you are allowed to continue the health insurance coverage that you had on the job. However, YOU PAY THE ENTIRE PREMIUM. The county no longer pays any portion of it. For "self and family" coverage that can amount to $800 a month.

Employees ARE part of the Florida Retirement System (FRS) which does not require the employee to pay into the program and which does participate in Social Security. When you retire and reach the appropriate combination of years of service and age you can begin drawing your retirement pay. When you reach Social Security age you can draw that as well. A deputy can become vested in the retirement system in six years and take early retirement, but cannot draw the annuity until reaching the required combination of years of service and age. If you retire and do not begin immediately drawing an annuity you ARE NOT eligible for continuing the health insurance coverage even if you are willing to pay for it in full.