PDA

View Full Version : Coming to Tenn

09-23-2007, 01:32 PM
Is cookeville near jefferson county, Dandridge, and are you hiring .

09-24-2007, 01:36 AM
Cookeville is not really anywhere near Dandridge or Jefferson County.

Cookeville is just east of Nashville. Dandridge and Jefferson County are east of Knoxville.

Cookeville and Dandridge are probably about 3.5 to 4 hours apart by car.

Dude, buy a map or look on mapquest.

09-26-2007, 03:13 AM
I am looking for a new place to live and was told that some retired Miami cops are living there. Do you all know a sherrif or cop named Gus Clemente?
I also would like to know about any part time jobs available?
I want to move the hell out of south florida and with my pension and a small paying job should be okay.
How is the housing? Any state taxes or other homestead taxes? Thank u...

09-27-2007, 01:27 PM
I am a retired cop from Broward, and I live in Cookeville, Gus lives near me, and he is the Chief Deputy (2nd in command) for the White County Sheriff's Office in Sparta (about 15 mins S of Cookeville)

There are many retired cops living in this area. Many from Miami Dade, and other places throughout Florida, NY, LA and other places as well

Cop jobs up here are available, however, the pay is VERY low. Try 12-14 dollars an hour! If you really want to work, find something else!

09-27-2007, 01:30 PM
forgot to answer your questions about costs.

real estate taxes - VERY low big house, land - 1500 annually
Homeowners insurance - 900 annually
car insurance - 50% of what I was paying in FL
electric - 5000sf home - 200 a month to cool in the Summer months - 225 to heat in the Winter

sales tax HIGH 9.25%
NO state Income tax like FL
annual car registration - 25.00

good luck!

09-27-2007, 07:36 PM
Which dept are you from in Broward?

09-29-2007, 09:46 PM
BSO 25 years

02-03-2008, 02:33 PM