The Handcuffing topic again.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

The Handcuffing topic again.

I performed one aspect of my job last night. I had to handcuff someone in the field. Why do I feel like I have done something wrong? I had Law Enforcement with me as procedure calls for. I did not want Law Enforcement coming to the door with me, as to not scare the offender from opening his door. The offender walked out of the front door and I handcuffed him immediately. He was a violent offender and before he could debate anything with me, I handcuffed him for my safety. Law enforcement then approached the area. I know I am not a cop, I am a probation officer, why should we have to feel bad when doing an essential part of our job. I really do not understand?

Where are you chanels 8,9,10, and 13. Do you not care about our safety? You only care when one of our offenders has a high profile and then you slam us to the ground. I think you need to continue on with this story, like you did a couple of months ago. A good title for the story would be "Department Liability vs. Officer Safety" .

Bottom line, a probation officer should not feel guilty about handcuffing an offender for his own safety.

P.S. I am not a wannabe cop but a Probation Officer and handcuffing is one aspect of our job.

Senior Member LEO Affairs Corporal

Re: The Handcuffing topic again.

Quote Originally Posted by Mergatroid Shicklegruber