Pinellas Area Agencies

ND-fiveO

Pinellas Area Agencies

Hey everyone- new member here. 6 year veteran officer from ND moving to Florida next spring (March 2021). I’m a traffic focused officer (DRE and Drug interdiction) but I love taking calls as well! I work for a city of 40,000 and I’m excited to apply with a large city. I just applied for the EOT process with PASS in St Petersburg so I can come down and get licensed in 2 weeks. I’ll be taking the 2 week course in November and I’ll be looking for jobs in the area after/ if I pass the state exam. I have read a lot of negative things about St Pete PD on these forums. I’m hoping it’s not all true since I understand every agency has down falls. I’ll be applying with PCSO, HCSO, Tampa, Clearwater, and St Pete. Any insight from officers in the area as to which agencies to strive for / avoid?

Thanks!!

Unregistered
    We have a lot of issues like everywhere else. It’s not too bad here but I’ll tell you - the issues in the city and also within the government (including our pd) are probably amongst the worst in the state. Good luck

Unregistered
    "I have heard your agency is the bottom of the barrel so I am going to apply there anyway"

Good luck with that, MENSA poster boy. The cornfields will look so good after 6 months here

Unregistered
    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    "I have heard your agency is the bottom of the barrel so I am going to apply there anyway"

Good luck with that, MENSA poster boy. The cornfields will look so good after 6 months here
    Not what I said. I’ve read a lot of bashing back and forth among agencies and I just wanted insight to the general morale and benefits to each agency around the area.

Unregistered
    In that case really think about coming here then. At least while we are under this mayor and chief(s)

Unregistered
    Of the agencies that you mentioned, I will rank them in the order that I consider the best in terms of pay, benefits, morale, etc...