My dream is to work at the Highlands Country
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Junior Member LEO Affairs Recruit

I've got 2 years experience in North Florida, but I am interested in relocating to South Florida. However, I'd like to live and work someplace with a manageable Cost of Living. Highlands seems to fit the bill. Is there anything I should be aware of before applying? Morale issues or anything? The Highlands boards is pretty quiet and the information I'm seeing is outdated. Thanks, folks, be careful out there.

Reference:
    explainer video

Unregistered

Read The latest

Deputies last year were recruiting but that seems to have stopped.

I would look around at pay in the central part of Florida. Highlands is low

Morale is low and seems to be slipping fast

Unregistered

Dream Job

I'm not sure if you are being sarcastic or serious but I have to be honest with you. This place is a sinking ship for anyone who is serious and cares about doing a good job. It's a good old boy system that takes care of those who donate to the Sheriff's election and rewards/protects certain classes of people. With 2 years, your pay will be squat and health insurance is absolutely through the roof. They put on a great image and maybe they have discovered the secret to polishing a turd.

Unregistered

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    I'm not sure if you are being sarcastic or serious but I have to be honest with you. This place is a sinking ship for anyone who is serious and cares about doing a good job. It's a good old boy system that takes care of those who donate to the Sheriff's election and rewards/protects certain classes of people. With 2 years, your pay will be squat and health insurance is absolutely through the roof. They put on a great image and maybe they have discovered the secret to polishing a turd.