DIFS Insight
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIFS Insight

Unregistered

DIFS Insight

hey guys,

Im a local LEO for a fairly large city in South Florida, I have about 2 years of experience and a degree. I want to go into detective bureau in my current agency but its all on who you know and barely anyone leaves back there.

I was looking into DIFS but i got a couple questions. I would take a bit of a pay cut with starting salary of about $46k, but do you guys have a steps program? What are some of the pros and cons of working for this agency. I would appreciate any pointers.

Unregistered
    First, it may or may not be wise to try and leave the road for a position here with only two years of experience. Many of the people here are already retired from another agency and most have a baccalaureate or advanced degree. The cases we work can be very complex and a lot of the Statutes are not even in the patrol statute book. When I first came here, with ten years of experience (about five as a Detective), and a Master's degree I did not know what the hell I was looking at so far as the typical case was concerned. The Training Agent I had gave me my first case and left me to sort it out on my own.

Next, our pay is tied to State allocation regarding raises. We may get a five percent raise one year and not see another for a decade or so; hence, why this is a difficult job for those working on their first pension, but we are a lot better off financially than FHP.