NYPD to FL
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NYPD to FL

Junior Member LEO Affairs Rookie

NYPD to FL

Hello all, so I'm an NYPD officer looking to move back down to Florida to be close to my family again. My parents were NYPD and when retired in 2003, our family moved down to SWFL. I moved back to NY after my military service and decided to also join the NYPD to give it a try. I love the job and don't really have much complaints about it but I miss Florida and my family soo much.

I'm looking for some insight on which departments are good. I'm looking into Tampa, St. Pete, Miami Sarasota, Clearwater areas. I'd like to go city not county sheriff. I know each area has different "districts" so if possible also add some info about the area you patrol. Please and thank you guys. Stay safe.

Unregistered
    Apply at sweetwater best department in south Florida

Unregistered
    Read the Tampa and St. Pete threads here and get an idea of what kind of issues they have. Sarasota has an Affirmative Action female chief that was in over her head from day one.
    You don't want to come down here; however, Broward has a few agencies with NYPD ex-pats.

Unregistered
    You don't want to come here. Especially if you have experience. On the west coast Pinellas Sheriff isn't bad, I have family with then. With all departments you have drama. Ft. Lauderdale, is a good place. Sheriff departments in Florida pick up experience people, quicker then city departments. It really depends, how far out of SWFL your willing to go. Highland Sheriff is another ok place. Some city departments around Dade are ok, again they have drama too. MBPD or Metro. Race, play a really big factor on who gets hired here and the F&F plan. Not, experience elsewhere out of Dade. I've known a couple of people that worked for NYPD that tried to get on with us. They got the run around and gave up dealing with the BS. They applied with Broward sheriff and got hired with 6 weeks and never looked back.

Unregistered