How's the jail?
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How's the jail?

Unregistered

How's the jail?

Hey everyone. I'm an officer with FDOC and i'm moving from my current location back home to hillsborough and considering the only prison near is in Polk, i am thinking of going to a sheriff's office. My question is for anyone with knowledge of the jail. What is the jail like? What are the shift hours? Is overtime available? Ect... Thank you in advance and stay safe.

Unregistered
    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    Hey everyone. I'm an officer with FDOC and i'm moving from my current location back home to hillsborough and considering the only prison near is in Polk, i am thinking of going to a sheriff's office. My question is for anyone with knowledge of the jail. What is the jail like? What are the shift hours? Is overtime available? Ect... Thank you in advance and stay safe.
    As much as the thought of home is great to you Id be really leery of giving up a state job for a SO where youre an essentially an at will employee. Id look real hard at what you can get at Polk schedule wise and if anyone commutes to home. Maybe a couple guys have a place to crash between days off. Aggravation? May be but it beats giving up that state job for the unknown. Also check if you can go back to the state job within so many months? Some places offer that option.

Unregistered

Go to Hillsborough or Polk SO

If you want to stay in the FRS high risk plan the best option would be to stay at DOC but if that's not possible Hillsborough or Polk are excellent choices. There is a plan in place with Pasco to explore a private company taking over jail operations. That would make you an employee of the contract company not a FRS eligible position.

Unregistered