St pete as a department
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

St pete as a department

i have been a memphis tn police officer for 5 years. I have talked to the recruiter several times but would like to hear from some officers on the street. I know every department has some good and bad how is it overall? I've heard that the attrition rate is pretty high there. also what shifts do you guys work 8 10 12 hours?

Re: St pete as a department

I don't have any exact numbers on the attrition rate, but it seems as of late to be a lot lower. People haven't been leaving in droves like they used to. Moral still isn't great, but it is a lot better again then what it used to be.

As far as the department goes, I enjoy it, but there are still a lot of haters, especially on this board. Workload is probably a bit more then other departments, but that also means a lot less downtime, which I consider a big plus. Another big plus is that there is a decent amount of off duty, pretty nice to supplement your income with.

As far as shifts, day shift works 8 hours, 5 days, evenings and midnights work 10 hours, 4 days. As a new officer, you can pretty much expect to end up on evenings or midnights.

Like every department, there are problems, but based on what friends who work in other departments in Pinellas have been saying, we have improved a lot while the other departments are having a lot more trouble lately.

Thanks, i don't mind the call load i currently work in Memphis TN.

this dept is great for hard working aggressive officers. The supervisors love officers that are go-getters and make arrests. The more aggressive and the more arrests you make will streamline you to a supervisor possession. If you are lazy and only hammer citizens with tickets you will find yourself in IA very quickly.

[YouTube][/YouTube]
    Quote Originally Posted by True