ABT Hire
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ABT Hire

ABT Hire

I was looking at the state site and there seems to be several openings for your department. I have a 2 yaer degree,dual cert l.e. cor.,army vet and looking for a change. Can one of you guys give me a honest review of your job? I have been looking for a new place to call home....

Whether you come in as a Law Enforcement Investigator I or II depends on your law enforcement experience. It is not your traditional "police job." Agents are certainly sworn law officers with full police power, but the adminstration and statute will limit your area of responsibilty. You have regulatory authority over the alcoholic beverage business, and are rarely involved in anything outside that. The majority of your day will be filled with regulatory tasks such as checking retailers for underage compliance, administrative inspections, compliance inspections, and investigating licensees for violations of Beverage Law. For some insight check out chapters 561-569, Florida Statutes. Some offices get involved in more traditional crimes but it almost always centers around the "industry." The good things - depending on your point of view all the above (although some would argue that.) You can also count on a take home car, 12 week fto program, 3% state retirement (most non law enforcement employees get 1.6%) Uniforms and equipment furnished, fairly flexible work schedule (ABT is not a shift agency or a first response agency) so there is no 24/7 coverage like FHP, FWC, etc. The big offices have 20-25 agents. Most have less than half that. There are less than 200 sworn from the Director to the new guy.

If I understand you correctly, you're already Fl. State certified as a Police Officer...if not, ABT will not put you through the academy. If you live in this state, then you know the cost of living. In case you don't...it's high, and our pay doesn't go too far (depending on the area you reside in). There is no OT, and no step pay plan.