PDA

View Full Version : enough is enough

john doe
12-17-2006, 08:08 AM
This is the first time I write anything here and before I say it, I want you to know that I put john doe not because I don't have what it takes to put my name,its the fear of retribution from the brass if I do.You know as well as I do that it will happen. We are power in numbers, not solo. Here it goes. I am another patrol grunt just like i would assume most of you here are. I have been a cop for just under ten years. Never in those ten years have I seen so many unhappy faces (including mine). Something is up!! I recall one day when I walked out of a court room in the justice building and two hialeah cops commented to eachother...and I quote:"look at their smiling faces". (we did not have the overlap).I think that the problem comes from many places...not just one. I can go into many examples as to how the overlap detail is affecting morale in the dept. but I would have to type too much giving examples where it has affected me. I for one hate it. I can recall before the overlap when I would come on duty and the prior shift would get a call, I would cancel those units and handle the call so that that shift could start getting ready to go home. I guess the overlap was brought in for different reasons and I think no one knows for sure, We can only speculate. If someone or some people were caught going home early,deal with those people,why should we all suffer. I think that it is here to stay until there is a major change in the brass including the cm. I also think that we feed off of our own negativity. What I do know for sure is that we have come to a point that it is affecting our relationship with eachother(including myself) and I am worried. I sometimes sit in roll call,look at our leaders on the wall,listen to what they have to say, and think: SHEEP!! It is so much easier to just go with the grain instead of against it,but I will tell you that with everything going on in the dept. some people