PDA

View Full Version : Promotions & Demotions

10-19-2006, 11:13 PM
I am a local business owner & taxpayer and I recently heard a story that troubled me quite a bit. I was told that an officer with more than 20 years military and law enforcement experience (who held the rank of Detective) was demoted back to patrol status. Normally this would not concern me, but the reason and the qualifications of the replacement did. I was told the reason for the demotion was "so every officer could get experience at the Detective position". And I was told the replacement is a former detention guard with less than three years patrol experience. And is Steve Spina aware of situation?

Now with the recent rash of burglaries, which I'm sure can be attributed to the local rise in drug use & sales. It would seem to me that a chief would want the most qualified to hold the position, not take turns like kids at a birthday party waiting on a pony ride. It makes myself and others wonder if there are underlying reasons for the demotion.

Can anyone with first hand knowledge confirm or deny this almost unbelievable story?

Thank you for your service and be safe.

10-20-2006, 03:49 AM