PDA

View Full Version : Not discouraged

kiwi
09-03-2006, 06:06 PM
I am a retired cop from out of state and am on the SFPD list just below the 100 mark. I found the testing process efficient for the number of people they had to process. The oral board was good and appeared to be fair. I did well for an old white male. Physical agility was OK too. I didn't have to run 1.5 miles! My only complaint was that the Bill Graham Auditorium was as cold as an ice box during the written test. I think SF is a great place, despite the hoards of EDPs and homeless on the streets! My father was going to live there after WWII after returning from the islands but changed his mind for some reason and returned to the Northeast. I like the climate (including the fog) and plenty to do within walking/bus/tram distance. If I am hired I will live in the city as there is only the wife and I (and a couple of small dogs). I do not know how a family could afford to live in SF. You guys must do massive amounts overtime if you live in city and own a home. The academy is in a good neighborhood with a Safeway next store! No room for a range or driving track, though! It seems to be too small in size for the number of recruits they want to train. I don't mind training for 6 months at the academy as the SFPD doesn't take laterals. (neither does Oakland). At least it won't be a live-in boot camp. I see the gripes on the board and they are same gripes I hear from cops all over the states and the world. It appears to me POA has allot of clout and stands up for the guys considering how "PC" the city government is. Consider yourself lucky to have a union that can protect its members. Most can't or won't. I know several SFPD cops and they are great guys. Went on a ride along, including a trip to the notorious Bayview/Hunters Point. I even got to meet Chief Fong and attended a Police Commission meeting. So, even if I am not hired, what I did during my visits for testing were worth the airfare. Stay safe