PDA

View Full Version : Investigator Openings in Tampa and Orlando

08-18-2006, 02:48 AM
I just recently applied to the investigator II openings in Orlando and Tampa. As my username implies, I am a Federal Officer with 13 years experience. I was previously a Police Officer in central Florida. I have been able to keep my certification active (don't ask me how I got around the dual-office-holder thing). I have always wanted to work for DEP, ever since I saw the Florida Park Police when I was a kid in the Wekiva Springs State Park (cool green uniform then). I know about the crappy pay and don't care. I make great money where I am and I am miserable. I just want to know what types of crimes the investigators investigate, how long is the training for already certified new employees, and what type of shifts do you have (ie, normal 9 to 5 or weird hours)? Additionally, should I start getting in shape for a PT test or can I slide by on doughnuts (Krispy Kreme to be exact, I love em). No, I am not crazy. I am tired of having my hands tied when I see violators of the law. I miss making PC arrests and my passion is natural resource law enforcement. I carry a Glock 22 now (.40 cal.) so transitioning to another Glock is cool. Thanks for any info.

08-18-2006, 12:20 PM
You may be jumping out of the frying pan and into the fire. I encourage you to think twice and do more research before leaving where you’re at. A good start would be to read all of the posts on all of the other threads on the DEP section of this website. We’ve got our own problems. At least you know what you’ve already got where you’re at. If you come here and discover you don’t like it, you’ll be kicking yourself in the ass for leaving where you are.

08-19-2006, 03:33 AM
Are there any other message boards with DEP info on it?

08-19-2006, 11:42 PM