PDA

View Full Version : Credentials

02-10-2011, 08:31 PM
Can anyone give some insight on what type of Master's degree would be preferable to get hired by the USSS? I have 4 years of police (patrol) experience, and with the federal budget being reeled in, I am trying to separate myself from other candidates. Currently, I am working on my masters in Homeland Security and Emergency Management, and studying Arabic. Should I switch to something more cyber related, or pursue a fraud investigation certificate in adddition? Does the USSS have any demand for Arabic, or would something more practical like spanish be better? Any insight helps! Thanks in advance.

02-11-2011, 03:24 AM
If you're studying Arabic and are pursuing a master's degree, do yourself a favor and DO NOT apply with the USSS. Apply with the FBI instead (if you speak Arabic, the USSS will probably send you to work on a JTTF anyways, but that will only last 2 years). They will make better use of your talents than the USSS will. The agency does not place a value on language or any other skill that they did not bless off or train you on. The FBI process will probably be longer and more frustrating, but the career opportunities are much greater and the career is much more rewarding over the long run. Take a look at some other posts on this board and you will see that the USSS is no longer the agency it used to be (or thinks it still is). There are a ton of former USSS agents that are now FBI agents, but there are no former FBI agents with the USSS - there's a reason for this. Best of luck in your career endeavors.

02-11-2011, 02:42 PM
The golden days of the Secret Service are past.

Some people are attracted to it because of the sexy name. Don't go down that path.

You can tell someone that you are a Secret Service agent and 15 seconds later they will refer to you as an FBI agent.