PDA

View Full Version : Promotion Exams

10-23-2009, 06:12 PM
Is it just me?

I do not feel positive about how I did on the Sgt. test. I feel that I studied but felt kind of blown away with some of the questions. Whatever score I get I know was my own fault but does anyone else feel that most of the questions were a little off topic? Meaning should we show that we know or don't know how to run things or we know or don't know how many days notice someone gets for being in trouble?

Since this was a new test (I liked the former one) I wonder if it was possible for current Sgts or Lts to take this one and see how it scored out? Or were most of the questions the same for both exams not making it possible?

Good luck to everyone who took the exam today. I know I'll need it!

10-23-2009, 07:59 PM
They said it was going to be on the policies and by da*n they meant it! Personally i wish we had kept the old test. the ones who didn't have the bank of test questions who did all the complaining i would have gladly (especially now) given them MY copy! And i guarantee you that the current sgts. and lts. wouldn't have done no better on this one than we did! the number of days that something or other happened or didn't happen kept getting jumbled up in my mind! i couldn't keep them straight! good luck back to you! but you won't see me on the list for two more years! can we petition the sheriff to get the old test BACK!

10-23-2009, 08:50 PM
Although I may not like the format of the test either, you have to say one thing; it was the same for all of us! No questions floating around, no one with a "special" study guide or anything like that. The test could be more closely related to what we do on a day-to-day basis rather than the number of days for a disciplinary issue. That information is in policy to refer when needed. I would like to have seen more practical day-to-day questions.