PDA

View Full Version : IS THIS A CRIME?

12-19-2008, 02:26 PM
I am a divorce attorney and my client's wife broke into his briefcase and stole his laptop. She downloaded all the information off the computer.

I wanted to know if this was a crime since they were still husband and wife and resided together -- the briefcase was in the home when she broke in.

Thanks for anyone that can help!

12-19-2008, 03:15 PM
For one thing, if you were an attorney and not the husband in question you would know the ANSWER!

12-19-2008, 03:20 PM
I am the Husband's attorney. I do DIVORCE. I am NOT a criminal attorney. The work I do is civil in nature. So please explain how in the world I would no whether or not what the Wife did was a crime??????????? That's why I am asking a professional!

12-19-2008, 03:20 PM
I meant know not no

12-19-2008, 11:35 PM
I am NOT a criminal attorney. The work I do is civil in nature. So please explain how in the world I would no whether or not what the Wife did was a crime???????????

Law school, or did you sleep through criminal law.

12-19-2008, 11:48 PM
My law degree is from the Jacksonville School of Law and Sheet Metal Work. It is my opinion your client had no reasonable expectation of privacy in the home shared with his wife. The locked briefcase afforded no more privacy than a wrapped Christmas present. Your client is an idiot. get your money up front.

12-20-2008, 12:55 AM
Sounds like the wife found some good ammunition on her hubby! LOL Good for her!

12-20-2008, 04:07 AM
What's your's is her's and what's her's is her's!! :cop:

12-20-2008, 01:45 PM
:lol: (LOL)

12-23-2008, 10:16 PM
Wow. I am embarrassed by this question since a fellow lawyer asked this. I am further embarrassed that those in response to this question did not charge a billable hour for your answer. LOL.

12-24-2008, 03:29 AM
I am a divorce attorney and my client's wife broke into his briefcase and stole his laptop. She downloaded all the information off the computer.