PDA

View Full Version : Reserve DEP Officer

04-25-2008, 12:17 AM
Couple of questions from a fellow Fl.Certificed LEO.(25 yrs).If someone can answer that may know.

1.How long does it take to be hired after completed application is submitted ? It has been approved for processing.

2.If hired,does one go Tall.for training and how long.

3.Aprox.how many Reserves does DEP have?

Thanks.....

04-25-2008, 01:38 AM
Florida LEO, I am a current FDEP reserve officer and can answer some of your questions.

For me, it took nearly 7 months once my application was in Tally. I have heard that it should take less time than that, but I sent mine in right as all the upper admin was leaving/being replaced.

I do not know what the normal procedure is for new hired reserves. I was sent to Tally/GHQ/Pat Thomas for 3 days to process, train and issue equipment. I did it with 3 other reserves and 4 other FT. I dont know if they always do this, though. But I will say it was a very worthwhile weekend. We qualified on sidearms/long guns, got certified in boat, trailer, atv, cpr, DT and other certifications, and have equipment issued. Long days but well worth it.

I would guess 20 reserves statewide. If you have any other questions, let me know. AWESOME reserve program, as far as Ive experienced.

04-25-2008, 11:18 PM
Thank You Sir for the information,I look forward to being a part of the DEP Law Enforcement Reserve Officer Program.It has only been about 3 months since DEP has had my application,but I have recieved good feed back and await my interview for the position.Thanks Again.

04-26-2008, 08:59 AM
How can i go about applying for the RESERVE program. I am currently a Aux Trooper in Miami

04-26-2008, 12:15 PM
Go to our Website. Basically you send your app. to our training section in Tally. Then they hold it for about 6 months before acting on it. Then you call them multiple times to remind them and it finally gets processed. Then you get hired.