PDA

View Full Version : To the Chiefs

09-05-2007, 05:34 PM
Gentlemen,
Please excuse me for writing under a pseudonym, however, the current culture in this department seriously discourages the excersizing of one's first amendment rights. Especially, when the subject matter is disparaging to the administration.
First, before I begin writing my thoughts, Mr. Fernandez, I take umbrage with your description of the lazy and rogue officers as personally as well as professionally insulting. Between serving in the military and as a Police Officer, I have spent the last 22 years, my entire adult life, serving my fellow man, country, and community. I am extremely proud of my service, as are my brothers and sisters in arms are of theirs.
Yesterday, a vote was cast by the rank and file of this department concerning your management of this police department. You act surprised by the outcome , however, I find you to be disingenuous, no surprise there. Then again, how would you know what the true status of the officers are when you are rarely, if ever, actually present.
I can not recall any other chief of this department who has been as frequently absent as you. While you are constantly traveling, promoting yourself, the department has been inexorably disintegrating.
Your greatest mistake was allowing Frank Fernandez to have so much control over the day to day adminstration of the department.
Prior to being elevated to the Deputy Chief position, he was an inexperienced and unproven lieutenant. He utterly lacked the requisite skills needed to manage such a large department.
Even after several management courses, including at least one at Harvard, he continues to lack the capabilities to be an effective leader.
Let us review a few of his mistakes.