PDA

View Full Version : READ THIS!!!

07-09-2007, 06:15 PM
I read this from an email. I think our Admin should read it. They have forgotten what our job is about. This should be in the paper.

You Only Think You Know Me
By unkown author

I am a police officer. When I get to work, my civilian clothes come off and my uniform goes on. It's uncomfortable and hot, dark colored and made of wool. I have to put on a bulletproof vest. I have two pairs of handcuffs, a small flashlight, a Taser, a baton, some extra magazines of bullets and a gun. I am trained to defend myself and others from serious harm or death. The uniform itself makes me a target of violence.

Artists rap about killing me. Gangsters write on walls about doing the same. But I love this uniform.

I am the person who comes when someone calls 911. I come with lights and sirens, driving fast, putting myself in danger, not knowing what I am driving to; a child just playing on the phone, husband or boyfriend beating his wife or girlfriend, neighbors arguing over a parking spot, or a parent whose child is acting up and they are so frustrated and desperate that they call us for the answer.

Will I be taking someone to jail, mediating a dispute, or playing parent? Will I be yelled at, cursed at, spat on or attacked? Will they be happy to see me or angry that I am there?

I have put a tarp over the body of a seven-year-old who stepped out in front of a car going at least 40 miles an hour. I watched his blood wash away as it began to rain. I stood over the body of a middle-aged man who was riding his bicycle home from work on the sidewalk and was struck by a teen driver who had two other teens in the car when she lost control.