PDA

View Full Version : Out of state leo - which departments have the best benefits?

DCtoSouthFL
07-07-2007, 02:14 AM
Hello all! I'd like to get some imput from experienced officers in the South Florida area. I have three years of experience as a police officer in DC and I'm looking to relocate to the area. Which departments are best with regards to benefits and quality of life issues. I also have a college degree so I would meet all the requirements from such departments like Coral Springs. Your imput would be very valuable to me. Thanks.

07-07-2007, 12:28 PM
Hello all! I'd like to get some imput from experienced officers in the South Florida area. I have three years of experience as a police officer in DC and I'm looking to relocate to the area. Which departments are best with regards to benefits and quality of life issues. I also have a college degree so I would meet all the requirements from such departments like Coral Springs. Your imput would be very valuable to me. Thanks.

Don't come here, this place sucks

07-07-2007, 01:40 PM

Most departments down here are on a hiring freeze due to state mandated property tax roll backs. Morale here is low. Our top pay is near 64K but that is on the low end for this county (however we reach top pay quicker than most and we are in the final months of a contract). We have a good, strong health insurance and they actually have increased our benefits over the last couple of years without raising our contributions. We all get take home cars when we are done with out FTO, but most of us do not get laptops right away so you have to run things the old fashioned way on the radio.

07-07-2007, 05:11 PM