PDA

View Full Version : Employment info

06-30-2007, 05:40 AM
I am trying to find out some information about the SO. I'm a police officer in GA but I want to move back to Florida. I am hearing a lot of talks about layoffs and hiring freezes. Is PCSO under a hiring a freeze? One of the recruiters I spoke with in the area suggested I check with PCSO.

Is this a good agency to work for? I can see there are some concerns from reading some of the blogs on this site. Are the problems facing the dept. something that can be worked out in the future?

Please don't use this as a chance just to bash this agency, or say the Sheriff sucks. I appreciate your responses.

06-30-2007, 11:52 AM
Agency can be good, administration is horrible and has placed us in a precarious position of being tremendously understaffed. Had not asked for increase in manpower for four years, and now wants to blame county commission.

Hiring freeze? We cannot get enough people. Good news for you is it is easier than ever to get hired since the administration keeps lowering hiring standards.

07-03-2007, 10:33 AM
Not true.

We have added at least 30 - 40 new law enforcement deputy positions in the last three years. More were requested, but several were cut last year.

Standards have not been lowered.

I believe almost all of our certified law enforcement positions we got in this year's budget are full, so you had better hurry if you are interested, if have a positive attitude and if you are willing to get certified in Florida. Good luck!

This will give you more information:

http://www.pascosheriff.com/websmart/Pa ... nities.htm (http://www.pascosheriff.com/websmart/Pasco/static/Career%20Opportunities.htm)

The negative posts appear to be politically motivated. Almost all Pasco deputies have a positive attitude and appreciate the fact they can protect and serve their community.