PDA

View Full Version : gym

05-12-2007, 07:01 PM
How come we are not allowed to use the gym if we are on road patrol? How come the bureau and anybody above road patrol can/does? This is not a bashing or an attempt to cause anyone any problems, I am only ONLY asking WHY? I know that srt needs to be allowed for obvious reasons, but what about the rest of us? Please anyone know the answer?

I know that almost all of the other agencies allow there people to do it on duty wheni ts slow or instead of taking lunch. I also know that they stagger the times with a signup sheet to not lose everyone at once. Anyone know why??

05-12-2007, 10:11 PM
As far as I know no one has ever asked for it. It has never been brought up at any union meetings either. I'm a road patrol officer and not a detective or supervisor.

If you feel that this is something the department should offer you should write a very well thought out memo to the Chief. Explain why you feel it is important. Give idea's on how it could be scheduled. No one can knock you for trying.

If your idea gets approved everyone but our not so good driving, clumsy, new yorker cop will be able to work out on duty. His first day in the gym on duty he would most likely drop a 45 lb. weight on his foot and then starts Davie's first wheel chair unit. I can't even imagine him on a treadmill. I say this all in fun. Hope you get a laugh out of it G.D.

05-12-2007, 11:52 PM
I heard it was brought up in the past by both officers and supervisors but the it was turned down by the top cops or the town . This may just be another rumor but thats the story. I figure we can do it on our time(40) if its not busy, of course it will ruined by someone who abuses it or refuses to clear for a 41(0) at bk across the street, not that the other certified (non road patrol) in the building would ever respond.

05-13-2007, 12:02 AM