PDA

View Full Version : Do bicycles require lights when on sidewalks?

04-07-2007, 02:07 PM
I'm a cop, but have never worked as a traffic officer, so this question is directed to our state traffic enforcement experts: FHP!

At night, bicycles require lights (head & rear) if they want to ride in the street. However, a couple of years ago the law changed and it now allows bicyclists to ride on the sidewalk, as long as they yield right-of-way to pedestrians. The law was changed to allow bicyclists to ride on sidewalks because, well, let's face it: You'd be crazy to ride your bicycle on some streets because it's too dangerous!!!

All of this leads up to my question: When a bicyclist is riding on the sidewalk, is he required to have a front headlight on his bicycle? The reason I'm asking is because:
1) he's not in the street
2) but sidewalks are usually on city, county or state property.

Does anyone know the legal answer? Or is it possible that there isn't a legal answer (yet) unless case law is made on this issue?

Any opinions are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

04-07-2007, 03:10 PM
Very good question. To be honest with you, I'm not totally sure of the answer, but I would lean more towards saying that they still have to have the light on. The sidewalk is on the right of way, and subsection 8 says EVERY bicycle shall be equipped blah blah blah. The statute that permits them to use the sidewalk says they have the RIGHTS of a pedestrian, but doesn't say they ARE pedestrians when they are on the sidewalk or crosswalk.