PDA

View Full Version : Employment

02-10-2007, 01:45 AM
Hello I plan to apply for the FHP. Is it a hard department to get hired with? I have a 2 year degree in Criminal Justice from another state and a non-certified candidate. This would be my first LE officer job if hired. Is the department picky about who they hire? Any other information will be helpful.

02-10-2007, 02:16 PM
Just read all the posts. You will be able to form your own opinion. A year long application process that you pay for. Terrible pay and benefits. Low morale. But hey, alot of people seem to be applying. Go figure.

02-10-2007, 03:31 PM
Well, you're already ahead of half of the applicants if you have an associate's degree. FHP's site says they give hiring preference to those who have completed 60 credits of college, so I say go for it. Many meet FHP's minimum application requirements, but the part people have problems with is making it through their rigorous application process that weeds out most of the general population (e.g. polygraph, psych exam, etc).

Remember, it's not easy to become one of the elite.

02-10-2007, 03:36 PM
Apply to FHP. Don't listen to what is posted on LEOAffairs. Probably 95 percent of the people that post here don't work for FHP. I have worked for the Patrol for 9 years. I wouldn't work for any other agency BUT the Patrol. What's wrong with the benefits? In my area, Troopers make a lot more than city officers. Deputies are paying about $500 a month for family health insurance. Troopers are paying about $190. All the city and county agencies in my district require their patrol officers to comp their extra hours. FHP is the only agency that pays their officers for OT. Not to mention the fact that we can also work up to 20 hours a week of SOAR overtime. FHP doesn't have a quarter of the morale issues that a lot of other departments have.

02-10-2007, 05:49 PM